Organizational Meetings
Liaison Committee – 68th Session

The 68th Session of the Liaison Committee of AARDO was held on 24th August 2016 at the conference hall of the AARDO Secretariat, New Delhi under the chairmanship of H.E. Mr. Jagdishwar Guburdhun, High Commissioner for the Republic of Mauritius to India, and Hon’ble Chairman of the Liaison Committee. Nineteen (19) delegates from seventeen (17) member countries, namely, People’s Republic of Bangladesh, Burkina Faso, Republic of China (Taiwan), Arab Republic of Egypt, Republic of Ghana, Republic of India, Republic of Iraq, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Lebanon, State of Libya, Republic of Mauritius, Federal Republic of Nigeria, Sultanate of Oman, State of Palestine, Republic of Sudan, Republic of Yemen and Republic of Zambia of the Liaison Committee attended the Session. In addition, H.E. the High Commissioner for the Republic of Namibia and H.E. the Charge d’ Affaires a.i. for the Republic of Tunisia and other delegates from Kingdom of Bhutan and Uganda as well as the Secretary General of International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage (ICID) attended the Session as Observers. His Excellency Eng. Wassfi Hassan El-Sreihin, Secretary General, AARDO attended the meeting as Member Secretary to the Liaison Committee. After the opening remarks, the Hon’ble Chairman welcomed all the distinguished delegates to the 68th Session of the Liaison Committee.

After adopting the Provisional Agenda, the Committee adopted the report of its previous (67th) Session held on 22 March 2016. The Committee took note of the follow -up actions taken/proposed to be taken by the AARDO Secretariat on the decisions/recommendations of the 67th Session of the Executive Committee and the 67th Session of the Liaison Committee. The Committee reviewed the activities of the Organization, membership contribution and member relations for the period January - June 2016. The Committee also took note of the projected programmes of AARDO for the period July - December 2016. The 68th Session of the Liaison Committee decided to hold its next (69th) Session on 23rd February 2017.