Eng. Wassfi Hassan El-Sreihin (Jordanian)
(3 September 2011 – to date)

His Excellency Eng. Wassfi Hassan El-Sreihin who hails from Jordan, took over the charge of office of the Secretary General of African-Asian Rural Development Organization (AARDO) on 3 September 2011...Read More
Dr. Abdalla Yahia Adam (Sudanese)
(3 September 2003– 2 September 2011)

Prior to his election as Secretary General, Dr. Abdalla Yahia Adam served as Assistant Secretary General from March 2000. Before joining AARDO as Assistant Secretary General in March 2000, he had assumed the charge of the MP (Sudan National Assembly) and Deputy Chairman of the Committee of Agriculture, Water Resources and Animal Wealth. Dr Adam did his Master degree from the University of Readings, UK and Ph.D from Jamia Hamdard, India. Dr Adam was elected as the Secretary General of AARDO by the 51st session of the Executive Committee, held at New Delhi during June 2003.
Dr. Bahar Munip (Malaysian)
(3 September 1997 – 2 September 2003)

Dr. Bahar Munip took over as Secretary General of AARRO on 3 September 1997 after having being elected by the 44th Session of Executive Committee held in Egypt in 1997. Before assuming the charge of Secretary General, Dr Munip served as Assistant Secretary General during March 1993 – August 1997. He was involved in the development of the rural sector in food production and eradication of poverty for over two decades in Malaysia. Prior to joining AARDO in 1993, Dr. Munip was Director of ASEAN Food Handling Bureau.
Mr. Ahmed Abdelwahed Khalil (Egyptian)
(3 September 1991 – 2 September 1997)

Prior to his appointment as Secretary General, he worked as Assistant Secretary General from 1984. After having graduated in Sociology from Cairo University, he went in for specialised higher studies in Sociology at Cairo University; on a scholarship for Development Studies at Paris and Ohio State University, USA and Master Degree in Public Administration from Cairo University. He has a varied experience in the field of Social Development/Welfare, Social Service Amenities, Handicraft & Cottage Industries and Cooperatives in the rural areas in Egypt.
Mr. B.C. Gangopadhyay (Indian)
(2 September 1985 – 2 September 1991)

Joined Indian Administrative Service (IAS) in 1950 and served in different capacities as Sub-Collector, District Collector and Secretary to the Government with portfolios of Irrigation & Power, Roads & Buildings, Forests & Rural Development, Medical & Health and Revenue. Joined the Government of India in 1978 and worked as Managing Director and Chairman, Food Corporation of India during 1978-80. Last posting in the Government of India was that of Secretary, Department of Food during the period 1980-85.
Dr. B.S. Minhas (Indian)
(2 February 1981 – 1 September 1985)

Served as Member, Planning Commission of India; Member of Sixth Finance Commission of India; Fellow, University of Sussex, Brighton, England; Chairman, Governing Council, National Sample Survey Organization, Government of India; Advisor to World Bank Mission to Egypt in 1979 and 1980; Consultant to FAO; Head of the Planning and Regional Survey Units of the Indian Statistical Institute; Distinguished Scientist, Indian Statistical Institute.
Mr. S.M. Osman (Egyptian)
(4 October 1974 – 12 November 1979)

Served the Government of Arab Republic of Egypt and held important positions: Member, Ministry's Technical Bureau; Deputy Director and Director in Egyptian General Cooperative Agriculture Organisation; and Rapporteur Organiser, Permanent Afro-Asian Training Centre, Ministry of Agriculture, Cairo (on Deputation). First appointed as Director in the Afro-Asian Rural Development Organization in 1965 and promoted as Assistant Secretary General in 1966. Assumed charge as acting Secretary General on 4th October 1974, followed by regular appointment as Secretary General on 1 November 1975 (Died in office on 12 November 1979).
Mr. Krishan Chand (Indian)
(17 May 1965 – 4 October 1974)

Joined Indian Civil Service in 1939. Served as Secretary and Evaluation Commissioner in the State of Uttar Pradesh (India); Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Community Development & Cooperation and the Ministry of Food & Agriculture, Government of India; Additional Secretary and Director General, Food, Government of India.
Mr. K.D. Sharma (Indian)
(4 April 1962 – 16 May 1965)

Before joining AARDO, Mr. Sharma was working as the Secretary of the Farmers' Forum, India and also held charge of Director of the Agriculture Fairs in India.